Tag Archives: Julie Cross

Third Degree by Julie Cross *Review*

Third Degree cover

Title: Third Degree

Author: Julie Cross

Release date: March 25, 2014

Published by: Flirt (Imprint of Random House)

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Source: eArc

add-to-goodreads-button31

Synopsis

Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

Advance praise for Third Degree

“With quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and a touching romance, Third Degree is a refreshing entry in the New Adult genre. I can’t wait to read what Julie Cross comes up with next!”—Roni Loren, bestselling author of Need You Tonight

“I fell for quirky, brainy, socially awkward child prodigy Izzy and even more so for her sweet, compassionate, and hot RA, Marshall. I was rooting for their happily-ever-after and was sighing with satisfaction by the end.”—Christina Lee, author of the Between Breaths series

“Loved! Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door and Tammara Webber’s Easy will fall hard for this book.”—Krista Ritchie, co-author of the Addicted to You series

Buy the Book

Random House | Amazon | Barnes and Noble

 

Review

4 stars

It’s a great feeling when you start reading a book and are immediately drawn into the story. Especially when you’re not expecting it to happen!

I really enjoyed this one.

Isabel was a great character — the kind you don’t understand very well and find it hard to connect to because she’s just that different, but one you can’t help but be curious about and come to are for in the end. As a child prodigy she was hilarious, as a young woman struggling to find her place in the world she was adorable.

Nevermind Marshall. He was awesome. The kind of character that quickly endears himself to you making you wonder what his imperfection is. I loved him!

I especially loved them together. They were so different but perfect for each other bringing out the best out of each other while allowing themselves the chance to discover how to let go of the walls they had around themselves. Together they learned to open up, embracing the life they were meant to lead and finding love along the way — something neither one of them was expecting.

Light on the angst, but not light in the range of emotions, Isabel and Marshall’s story was one packed full of light and funny moments, honest interactions and some mighty steamy encounters. Kudos to Julie Cross for bringing forth such a different and entertaining read.

All in all, a wonderful story about two completely different people taking a risk and allowing their connection to develop into something that would forever change their lives.

* I received an ARC copy of this title in exchange of my honest opinion.

About the Author

Julie Cross lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former gymnastics program director with the YMCA. She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and New Adult genres. She’s also a committed (but not talented) long-distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

Blog | Facebook | Twitter